Our Experts Are Here to Help 1.877.299.4564
Driver Responsibility Law
 

Customer Testimonials

"Taking the New York defensive driving course online was so easy and so convenient. I loved not having to take time away from work or my family to complete the class!"

D.M.
Rochester, NY

Bookmark and Share

New York Driver Responsibility Laws

New York has come up with a novel new way to prevent drivers who have accumulated too many points on their record from accumulating any more by enacting a Driver Responsibility Assessment laws. In the hope of curbing aggressive driving behavior before it becomes necessary to suspend a license, this law put a price on aggressive driving and other offenses that could become quite a financial burden on some drivers.

In New York, the Driver Responsibility Assessment Law places a financial penalty on drivers who have accumulated too many points over and above the cost of the ticket. Depending on the offense, a driver may have to pay a minimum of $100 per year in order to maintain their driving privileges. For example, A New York driver who accumulates 6 points within an 18 month period will have to pay an annual "Driver Responsibility Assessment" of $100 per year for a three year period. Each additional point on the driving record after the initial assessment will result in an additional $25 per point. Failure to pay the annual assessments will result in suspension of driving privileges.

New York's Driver Responsibility Law applies to anyone, whether licensed in New York or not, who commits any of the following offenses while driving in New York State.

  • Conviction of an alcohol-related traffic violation and the violation occurred in NYS on or after November 18, 2004 (includes boats and snowmobiles); or
  • Conviction of a drug-related traffic violation and the violation occurred in NYS on or after November 18, 2004 (includes boats and snowmobiles); or
  • DMV hearing determines that you refused a chemical test and the refusal occurred in NYS on or after November 18, 2004 (includes boats and snowmobiles); or
  • Receiving six or more points on your NYS driver record during a period of 18 months and the violations occurred in NYS, Quebec or Ontario on or after November 18, 2004.

With a New York defensive driving course can provide up to a four-point reduction in the total number of active points on your driving record, depending on when the points were received. Learn more about the eligibiltiy requirements and benefits of a Defensive Driving Course to protect your NY driving record.

Register Now
 
 
A National Safety Commission, Inc. Company
P.O. Box 1175, Commack, New York 11725
NewYorkDefensiveDrivingNow.com is sponsored by American Safety, Inc. (Sponsor #028)